About Us

The Clean Gulf Commerce Coalition is a group of non-profit organizations that are working together to preserve and improve the health and integrity of the Gulf coast for generations to come.  We work to stop polluting industries from further degrading the land, air and water of Gulf communities.  We support efforts to resort the Gulf coast and enable communities to benefit from healthy, sustainable economies.

We believe that an environmentally friendly development will lead to greater opportunities for the people of the Gulf in the long run and seek to inform the public, the media and decision-makers at all levels of the dangers inherent to certain polluting industries and the benefits of more sustainable options.

As coal consumption in the United States is declining, coal companies are hoping to export their dirty coal to other countries, particularly in Asia.

Strong opposition to coal export terminals on the west coast has caused these companies to turn to the Gulf coast. They may hope that people here will be less informed and less organized, but we’re working to let communities know about the risks that come with coal export terminals, including toxic coal dust, polluted water and heavy rail traffic through neighborhoods. The truth is, local economies wouldn’t benefit much from exporting coal and our children would pay a high price.

If you live near one of the proposed facilities or near a facility looking to expand, now is the time to act to protect your health and the health of your family. Contact us if you want to get involved.

Member Organizations:

Public Citizen
1303 San Antonio St
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 477-1155
Kaiba White: kwhite@citizen.org

Sierra Club
716 Adams St
New Orleans LA 70118
Mail: P.O. Box 52503, Lafayette, LA 70505
(985) 209-5454
Devin Martin: devin.martin@sierraclub.org

Gulf Restoration Network
P.O. Box 2245
New Orleans, LA 70176
(504) 525-1528
Scott Eustis: scott@healthygulf.org  (extension 212)

Supporting Organizations

Air Alliance Houston
2409 Commerce St., Ste. A
Houston, Texas 77003
(713) 528-3779
Adrian Shelley: adrian@airalliancehouston.org

Louisiana Bucket Brigade
4226 Canal St.
New Orleans, LA 70119
(504) 484-3433
info@labucketbrigade.org

Environmental Integrity Project (EIP)
1303 San Antonio, Suite 200
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 637-9477
Lindsey Engelman: lengelman@environmentalintegrity.org

Louisiana Environmental Action Network (LEAN)
P.O. Box 66323
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
(225) 928-1315
Marylee Orr: marylee@leanweb.org

Press Contact:
Nancy Nusser
nnusser@citizen.org
Office: 512-637-9452
Cell: 410-934-9588

If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.